Singapore - Exhibition

Gajah Gallery 20th Anniversary Exhibition

Gajah Gallery

05 Nov 201620 Nov 2016

Gajah Gallery proudly celebrates its 20th Anniversary in a monumental exhibition featuring 24 artists from Southeast Asia, China, and the United States. This hugely ambitious show brings together some of the most prolific talent throughout the region that the Gallery has collaborated with over the years. Established in 1996 by director Jasdeep Sandhu, Gajah is one of the oldest Singapore-owned commercial galleries, and among the few that regularly exhibit at international art fairs. Outside of the Gallery’s two locations in Singapore and Yogyakarta, Gajah Gallery has exhibited in London, Yangon, Havana, Hong Kong, Manila, Tokyo, and Jakarta.

The artists featured will be Ahmad Zakii Anwar, Ashley Bickerton, Aung Soe, Chua Ek Kay, Gobardhan Ash, Handiwirman Saputra, Ho Ho Ying, Jason Lim, Jogen Chowdhury, Jumaldi Alfi, Kumari Nahappan, Li Jin, Made Djirna, Mangu Putra, Paritosh Sen, Putu Sutawijaya, Rudi Mantofani, Sabri Idrus, Semsar Siahaan, Suzann Victor, Vasan Sitthiket, Wei Ligang, Yunizar, and Yusra Martunus.

The exhibition will include new paintings and sculptures by these exceptional artists, alongside some iconic works from the region’s most historically renowned modern artists of the past half century. Indonesian artist Semsar Siahaan’s (1952 – 2005) masterpiece ‘Dalam Kamar’, for instance will be shown for the first time in Singapore. The late Myanmar artist Bagyi Aung Soe’s work will also be shown in this exhibition, following its inclusion at the National Gallery’s ‘Reframing Modernism’ exhibition earlier this year. New paintings by Ashley Bickerton, Li Jin, Ahmad Zakii Anwar, Jogen Chowdhury, Rudi Mantofani, Vasan Sitthiket and Yunizar will debut on the opening weekend, along with Suzann Victor’s stunning ‘Angel’ from her recent ‘Halo’ series, and Kumari Nahappan’s ‘Movement 1’ .

  • Gajah Gallery 20th AnnivesaryGajah Gallery 20th Annivesary

Related Artists

Ahmad Zakii Anwar

Ashley Bickerton

Aung Aung

Chua Ek Kay

Gobardhan Ash

Handiwirman Saputra

Handiwirman Saputra

Ho Ho Ying

Jason Lim

Jogen Chowdhury

Jumaldi Alfi

Kumari Nahappan

Li Jin

Made Djirna

Mangu Putra

Paritosh Sen

Putu Sutawijaya

Rudi Mantofani

Suzann Victor

Vasan Sitthiket

Wei Ligang


Yusra Martunus

Sabri Idrus

Contacts & Details

mon, tue, wed, thu, fri 11:00 am - 7:00 pm; sat, sun 12:00 pm - 6:00 pm



557 m2

Sandhu Jasdeep

T: +65 6737 4202 M: W: Gajah Gallery
39 Keppel Road, Tanjong Pagar Distripark #03-04 Singapore, 089065 Singapore