USA - News

Artists Announced for Next Year’s Whitney Biennial

3 years ago

In 2017 the Whitney Biennial will focus on identity in times of crisis.

The biennial is curated by Christopher Y. Lew, associate curator at the Whitney, together with curator Mia Locks. In order to complete their selection of 63 artists they traveled to 40 cities. The artists list includes US and non US based artists, men and women who work with a variety of media.

Despite being called a Biennial, it was last held in 2014. The selection of artists was made this year, coinciding with the presidential elections in America; therefore a dialogue between art and politics has been unavoidable.

The list includes, among others, Larry Bell, GCC (Nanu Al-Hamad, Abdullah Al-Mutairi, Aziz Alqatami, Barrak Alzaid, Khalid al Gharaballi, Amal Khalaf, Fatima Al Qadiri, Monira Al Qadiri), Tala Madani, Park McArthur, Occupy Museums (Arthur Polendo, Imani Jacqueline Brown, Kenneth Pietrobono, Noah Fischer, and Tal Beery), Beatriz Santiago Muñoz, Frances Stark and Anicka Yi.

Elena Scarpa

  • Whitney Museum, photo by Nic Lehoux Whitney Museum, photo by Nic Lehoux
  • Christopher Y. Lew and Mia Locks Christopher Y. Lew and Mia Locks