Faena Prize for the Arts Open Call

Words by Carla Ingrasciotta
April 26, 2016

Faena Art, the international nonprofit organization led by Artistic Director and Chair Ximena Caminos, recently launched the open call for the 2016–2017 Faena Prize for the Arts. A biennial international juried prize, the Faena Prize for the Arts recognizes artistic experimentation, encourages post-disciplinary and temporal exploration, and promotes inquiry of the infinite links among art, technology and design. The 2016 edition calls on artists or groups of artists from all over the world to develop proposals for original projects that engage with the concept of time and duration while also interacting with the monumental architecture of the Faena Art Center in a significant way. Project proposals should be submitted online at by August 10, 2016. Winning proposals will be produced for exhibition at Faena Art Center Buenos Aires in 2017.

Under the coordination of Ms. Caminos, the 2016 selection jury will include: Carlos Basualdo, Keith L. and Katherine Sachs Senior Curator of Contemporary Art at the Philadelphia Museum of Art; Achim Borchardt-Hume, Director of Exhibitions at the Tate Modern; Caroline Bourgeois, curator of the François Pinault Foundation; independent curator Jesús Fuenmayor; and Victoria Noorthoorn, Director of Museo de Arte Moderno de Buenos Aires.

Considered one of the most prestigious art prizes in the Americas, Faena Prize winners are awarded a total of 75,000 USD; 25,000 USD of which is allocated to the artist in unrestricted funds with a 50,000 USD budget for production to realize their proposal. The resulting work will be exhibited at the Faena Art Center Buenos Aires with the possibility of being adapted for Faena Forum in Miami Beach. Two special mentions will also be awarded, each with a 1,000 USD prize.

Previous Faena Prize winners are Cayetano Ferrer (2015), Fundación Vairoletto (2013), Martín Sastre(2012). Special mention awards have been granted to Nicolas Gullota (2015), Pablo Rasgado (2015), Santiago Sierra (2013), Sebastián Díaz Morales (2013), and Wilfredo Prieto (2012).

Artists, both individuals and collectives, 18 years old and above are eligible to apply. Project proposals should be submitted online before August 10, 2016. Submissions may include interdisciplinary projects, installations, performances, paintings, sculptures, photographs, film or video, and work in design or architecture that reflects on, responds to and/or occupies the Faena Art Center in a profound and impactful way.

Review process
While maintaining the open call, this year’s Prize will feature a Nominating Committee that will include curators and museum directors from around the world. These nominations will be anonymous and will be reviewed by the Faena Prize jury along with all open call submissions.

The Nominating Committee will include: Abdellah Karroum, Director of Mathaf: Arab Museum of Modern Art, Qatar; Fernanda Brenner, Artistic Director of PIVÔ, São Paulo; Jessica Morgan, Director of Dia Art Foundation, New York; Lucrecia Palacios, Curator at Malba, Buenos Aires; Philippe Pirotte, Director of Portikus and Biennale de Montréal; and Franklin Sirmans, Director of Perez Art Museum Miami. The Nominating Committee will be coordinated by curator, Jesus Fuenmayor.

Keep up to date with My Art Guides
Sign up to our newsletter and stay in the know with all worldwide contemporary art events