Nominees Announced for the 2015 Absolut Art Award

Words by Elena Scarpa
November 12, 2014

Each member of the 2015 Jury will invite two nominators, who range across multiple artistic disciplines and professional art backgrounds, to nominate five artists and one art writer, generating a maximum of fifty nominees for the ‘Art Work’ category and a maximum of ten nominees for the ‘Art Writing’ category.

The 2015 Jury will select a shortlist of five finalists, from both categories, which will be revealed during Art Basel Miami Beach 2014. The 2015 Jury is led by Jury President Massimiliano Gioni, Associate Director and Director Exhibitions at the New Museum in New York and Artistic Director of the Fondazione Nicola Trussardi in Milan.

The winning Artist and writer will be announce during Vernissage of of the 56th Venice Biennale in May 2015, and an awards ceremony will take place in September 2015 in Stockholm.

The Absolut Art Award offers an artist and an art writer a unique opportunity to realise a ‘dream project’, demonstrating our continued commitment to collaborating on transformative projects with the worlds’ most interesting creative talent. The winning artist will receive a cash prize of €20,000 and a budget of €100,000 to produce and exhibit a new artwork. The winning writer will also receive a cash prize of €20,000, plus a budget of €25,000 to research and produce a new art publication.

2015 Absolut Art Award Nominees:

Art Work Category

John Akomfrah (b. 1957, Ghana)
José Antonio Suárez Londoño (b. 1955, Columbia)
Leonor Antunes (b. 1972, Portugal)
Nairy Baghramian (b. 1971, Iran)
Yto Barrada (b. 1971, France)
Yael Bartana (b. 1970, Israel)
Eric Baudelaire (b. 1973, USA)
Mariana Castillo Deball (b. 1975, Mexico)
Simon Denny (b. 1982, New Zealand)
Trisha Donnelly (b. 1974, USA)
Köken Ergun (b. 1976, Turkey)
Geoffrey Farmer (b. 1967, Canada)
Richard Hawkins (b. 1961, USA)
Camille Henrot (b. 1978, France)
Federico Herrero (b. 1978, Costa Rica)
Karl Holmqvist (b. 1964, Sweden)
Iman Issa (b. 1979, Egypt)
Jesse Jones (b. 1978, Ireland)
Lee Kit (b. 1978, Hong Kong)
Ragnar Kjartansson (b. 1976, Iceland)
Mark Leckey (b. 1964, UK)
Minouk Lim (b. 1968, Korea)
Jean Luc Moulène (b. 1955, France)
Maha Maamoun (b. 1972, Egypt)
Rodney McMillian (b. 1969, USA)
Nicole Miller (b. 1982, USA)
Nástio Mosquito (b. 1981, Angola)
Shahryar Nashat (b. 1975, Switzerland)
Rivane Neuenschwander (b. 1967, Brazil)
Amalia Pica (b. 1978, Argentina)
Michael Portnoy (b. 1971, USA)
Laure Prouvost (b. 1978, France)
Frances Stark (b. 1967, USA)
Zhou Tao (b. 1976, China)
Kaari Upson (b. 1972, USA)
Andra Ursuta (b. 1979, Romania)
Arseniy Zhilyaev (b. 1984, Russia)

Art Writing Category

Julia Bryan-Wilson (USA)
Santiago García Navarro (Argentina)
Mark Godfrey (UK)
Alex Kitnick (USA)
Adam Kleinman (USA)
Quinn Latimer (USA)
Sarah Lehrer-Graiwer (USA)
Helen Molesworth (USA)
Dieter Roelstraete (Belgium)
Tirdad Zolghadr (Iran/Switzerland/USA)

Keep up to date with My Art Guides
Sign up to our newsletter and stay in the know with all worldwide contemporary art events