Tate Britain announces the 10 winners of the 2020 ‘Turner bursaries’

Words by Lara Morrell
July 3, 2020

Tate Britain has announced the names of 10 artists and collectives who are the recipients of £10,000 bursaries in place of this year’s Turner competition.

Alex Farquharson, who chaired the jury and is the director of Tate Britain in London, said in a statement, “Following a lively and rigorous virtual debate, the jury has settled on a list of 10 fantastic artists who reflect the exceptional talent found in contemporary British art. From ceramics to film, performance to photography, they represent the many exciting and interdisciplinary ways that artists work today.”

The 10 winners of the inaugural group of Tate Bursaries are as follows:

– Arika, a political arts organisation based in Edinburgh.
– Liz Johnson Artur, a a Ghanaian-Russian artist whose photography focuses on the complexity and richness of Black British life.
– Oreet Ashery, whose work explores the lived experience of care and chronic illness.
– Shawanda Corbett, whose pottery and performances draw out connections between bodies and the objects around them.
– Jamie Crewe, Glasgow based artist and singer
– Sean Edwards, whose sculptural work appeared at the Welsh Pavilion in the 2019 Venice Biennale.
– Sidsel Meineche Hansen, whose provocative digital works shine a light on the ways new technology has shifted understandings of gender and sexuality.
– Ima-Abasi Okon, creates sound sculptures and videos with materials related to the Black diaspora.
– Imran Perretta, creates films which explore new modes of surveillance on oppressed communities.
– Alberta Whittle, who lives and works between Barbados, Scotland and South Africa and works in video, sculpture and performance.

Keep up to date with My Art Guides
Sign up to our newsletter and stay in the know with all worldwide contemporary art events