The 13th Shanghai Biennale announces participating artists for main exhibition opening in April

April 6, 2021

The Power Station of Art [PSA] announces the culmination of the 13th Shanghai Biennale, Bodies of Water. Its main exhibition PHASE 03: AN EXHIBITION opens on April 17, 2021, with 64 participating artists presenting projects, including 33 new commissions, presented at the PSA and other venues across Shanghai.

The flow and flush of waters sustain our own bodies, but also connect them to other bodies, to other worlds beyond our human selves.
—Astrida Neimanis

To challenge the traditional biennale format and explore the participant-public divide, the Biennale is unfolding over the course of nine months as an in crescendo project. It began in November 2020 with PHASE 01: *A* WET-RUN REHEARSAL, a five-day inaugural program, and was followed by PHASE 02: AN ECOSYSTEM OF ALLIANCES, five months of activity and programming. This allowed the artists, thinkers and curators involved in the Biennale to develop their work in close collaboration with the City of Shanghai, its people, networks of activism, organisations, and institutions.

From bodies to other bodies, climates, ecosystems and technologies, all life forms are inextricably interconnected and interdependent. Bodies of Water asks us to examine this living collectivity at a time when the earth is facing unprecedented challenges, from the accelerating climate crisis to the current global pandemic.

Participating artists (further artists to be announced at the press preview on April 15, 2021):

Alberto Baraya; Ana Mendieta; Antoni Muntadas*; Astrida Neimanis, Aunty Rhonda Dixon-Grovenor, and Clare Britton*; Ayesha Tan Jones*; Cao Minghao and Chen Jianjun*; Carlos Casas*; Carlos Irijalba*; Cecilia Vicuña; Cheng Xinyi; Cooking Sections (Daniel Fernández Pascual and Alon Schwabe); Dai Chenlian*; Debajo del Sombrero (participating artists: Andrés Fernández, José Manuel Egea, Miguel García, María Lapastora and Belén Sánchez); Diakron and Emil Rønn Andersen*; Diane Severin Nguyen*; Feliciano Centurión; Guo Fengyi; Heather Phillipson*; Hylozoic/Desires (Himali Singh Soin + David Soin Tappeser)*; Ibiye Camp*; Itziar Okariz*; Jenna Sutela; Joan Jonas*; Karrabing Film Collective; Kyriaki Goni*; Liam Young; Michael Wang*; Nerea Calvillo (C+arquitectas)*; P Staff in collaboration with Basse Stittgen*; Pan Daijing*; Pepe Espaliú; Pu Yingwei*; ReUnion X DMAS*; Revital Cohen and Tuur Van Balen; Sun Xiaoxing, Qiu Zhen, Zhao Kunfang and Huang Siyao*; Tabita Rézaire; Torkwase Dyson*; Vera Frenkel; WORKac (Amale Andraos and Dan Wood); Zadie Xa and Benito Mayor Vallejo*; Zheng Mahler (Royce Ng and Daisy Bisenieks)

Keep up to date with My Art Guides
Sign up to our newsletter and stay in the know with all worldwide contemporary art events