The Fondation Beyeler invites architecture firms to take part in a design study

Words by Carla Ingrasciotta
March 22, 2016

With a view to identifying the architecture firm that will build its planned extension, the Fondation Beyeler is launching a design study. Leading architects in Switzerland and abroad are being invited to participate.

At the end of the selective prequalification stage, the Assessment Board chose the following eleven architecture firms to participate in the design study: Sou Fujimoto Architects; Junya Ishigami + Associates; Christian Kerez Zürich AG; Made In Architects; Studio Märkli; Hiroshi Nakamura & NAP Co., Ltd; Smiljan Radic; Kazuyo Sejima + Ryue Nishizawa / SANAA; Souto Moura – Arquitectos SA; Tod Williams Billie Tsien Architects; Atelier Peter Zumthor & Partner.

 The evaluation of the documents submitted at the prequalification stage and the selection of participants in the design study was carried out by an Assessment Body chaired by Hansjörg Wyss, Boston (Chairman of the Board of Trustees, Beyeler-Stiftung). The Assessment Body is composed of: Wiel Arets, Amsterdam (architect), Roger Diener, Basel (architect), Ulrike Erbslöh, Basel (Deputy Director Fondation Beyeler), Rolf Fehlbaum, Basel (Chairman Emeritus Vitra), Sam Keller, Basel (Director Fondation Beyeler), Jean Nouvel, Paris (architect), Hans Ulrich Obrist, London (Co-Director Serpentine Galleries), Daniel Schneller, Basel (Monument conservator, Canton of Basel-Stadt), Annabelle Selldorf, New York (architect), Sir Nicholas Serota, London (Director Tate), Thomas Stauffer, Basel (Landscape architect, historical garden conservator), Christoph Stutz, Basel (Board of Trustees, Beyeler-Stiftung), Theodora Vischer, Basel (Senior Curator Fondation Beyeler), and Hansjörg Wilde, Riehen (Mayor of Riehen).


Keep up to date with My Art Guides
Sign up to our newsletter and stay in the know with all worldwide contemporary art events