The museum is situated in a palazzo originally built in 1649 by the noble Bon family and was predominantly designed by the Venetian Baroque architect Baldassarre Longhena.
In the mid-seventeenth century the venetian architect Baldassarre Longhena received from the patrician Filippo Bon a commission for a magnificent building on the Grand Canal completed a century later by the Rezzonico family, which gives the palace its name. Later on, it changed many owners, including the English painter Robert Barrett Browning in the XIX century (son of the poet Rober Browining), and in the twenties of the XX century the musician Cole Porter who lived here. Since 1936 it hosts the Museum of Eighteenth Century Venice. This charming environmental construction displays furniture, paintings and sculptures of one of the happiest seasons in European art with among others masterpieces by Canaletto, Guardi, Longhi, Tiepolo and Rosalba Carriera.